Our Trustees

Your five trustees all come from different backgrounds and each one brings a different perspective to the decisions Entrust makes.

What they have in common is a commitment to make sure Entrust’s decisions are in the best interests of its beneficiaries, now and in the future.

AECT Trustees: Paul Hutchison, William Cairns, James Carmichael, Karen Sherry, Michael Buczkowski

Dr Paul Hutchison, MB, ChB, FRCOG, FACOG, Dip Com Health, Member of Institute of Directors.

Paul was elected to the AECT (now Entrust) in 2015. He is a clinician at East Tamaki Health Care as well as Director of a number of companies and a Member of the Institute of Directors. Paul was the Member of Parliament for Port Waikato, then Hunua from 1999 – 2014. He chaired the Health Select Committee from 2008-2014 and was awarded the NZ Medical Association’s award for outstanding contribution to health services in 2014. His other interests include science and innovation, sport, music and fishing. Paul is married and has four daughters.

William Cairns B.Com, (Canterbury), Dip.Bus, (Auckland).
Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Secretaries (FCIS).

William was elected in 2009 and is Chairman of Entrust. He is a Director/shareholder of General Finance Limited, a public issuing finance company; and a Director/shareholder of Cairns Lockie Limited and Emortgage Limited. William is also an advisor to a number of private trusts on electricity investments and is a former director of Metrowater, a large New Zealand utility company. In addition to his business experience, William also brings considerable community involvement to Entrust, having been an Auckland City Councillor between 2001 – 2004, and a member of the Hobson Community Board from 1998 – 2001. William has also held the position of Chairman of the Art Gallery Enterprise Board. His other interests include vintage and classic cars, skiing and bush walking.

James Carmichael BE, FIPENZ (Fellow Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand)

James was first elected to Entrust in October 2006. James is one of two Trustees appointed to the Board of Vector Ltd to represent Entrust's interests. He is also on the Executive of Energy Trusts New Zealand (ETNZ). James was a Director of Ranhill Power Berhad, (2005 - 2008) a Malaysian public listed company and is also currently a Director of ProjectMax Ltd, a specialist pipeline technology consultancy. From 1994 to 2001 James was Regional Director (Asia-Pacific) for PowerGen UK plc, a top FTSE-100 Company. In 1997 he successfully completed the Senior Executive Program at Columbia University Graduate School of Business; and in 2000 the University of Michigan Business School, “Finance for Strategic Decision Making”. James has over 35 years of professional engineering, managerial, commercial, and international power experience including extensive governance roles. His other interests include chairing his Body Corporate Committee and he is still active on the tennis court.

Karen Sherry MA (Hons), LLB (Hons), QSM

Karen Sherry is a Principal of the law firm Bell-Booth Sherry, specialising in commercial and trust law. Karen was first elected to the AECT(now Entrust) in 1994 and is the longest serving Trustee and a former Chair of the trust. She is one of two Trustees appointed to the Vector Board to represent Entrust's interests. Karen is Chair of the Entrust Strategy Subcommittee and Vector’s Risk Committee, Chair of Energy Trusts of New Zealand and a Trustee of the Healthy Houses Trust. She is also a Director of Vector Communications Ltd, NGC Holdings Ltd and Vector Metering Data Services Ltd. Karen was a past Director of Mercury Energy and former Trustee of the Challenge Trust and a Director of SPCA Auckland from 2012-2015. In 2007 Karen completed the Harvard University (Boston) governance course "Making Corporate Boards More Effective". 
In the 2014 Queen’s Birthday Honours, Karen was awarded the Queen’s Service Medal (QSM) for services to the electricity industry. 

Michael Buczkowski BE(Electrical), MBA (Hons)

Michael Buczkowski has been a trustee since 2000 and is Deputy Chairman. He is General Manager Operations at Ricoh and was previously Managing Director of Hirepool 1995-2003 and also Director of Owens Industrial (NZX top 40). His professional experience includes: Consulting Electrical Engineer at BECA, registered Electrical Engineer from 1984 to 2004 and international consulting and energy experience. Michael was a Member of IPENZ and a Member of the Institute of Directors. His community service work includes Peugeot “Walk to Cure Kids”, “Work Choice Day” programme for children, North Shore Hospice volunteer, Salvation Army volunteer and involvement with local school fundraisin

In this section